top of page

4 Yearly Review of Modern Awards

Before 2018, the Commission was required to review all modern awards every 4 years. During the review the Commission could make new modern awards, or change (vary) or cancel (revoke) existing modern awards.


The 4 yearly review commenced on 1 January 2014. The process was conducted in 3 stages:

  • an initial stage to determine any jurisdictional issues

  • an award stage where each award would be reviewed in its own right, and

  • a common issues stage dealing with claims that would affect all or most modern awards.

Note: any variation of minimum wages as part of the modern awards review can only be based on work value reasons.

The review is now in its final stages.

8 views0 comments


bottom of page